• admin

Emerging Opals head to semifinals


The Emerging Opals advance to the semi-finals undefeated after an impressive 81-72 win over Chinese Taipei in the quarterfinals.


The game brought back memories from 2017 when the two teams matched up in the Championship game where Australia came away with the gold.


As predicted, it was a tight game, but Australia led the entire way.


“Chinese Taipei were a great opponent and played super hard tonight,” coach Shannon Seebohm said.


“We had to earn every point,”


Australia only led by two at three quarter time, but a strong fourth quarter sealed the deal and locked them into an appointment in Monday’s semifinals.


Lauren Scherf (Victoria University) was dominatant throughout and finished on 26 points and 11 rebounds. Ezi Magebegor (Deakin University) and Keely Froling (University of Canberra) weren’t far behind, both with 15 points.


“We obviously haven’t been together too long, but every game we are getting better,” Seebohm said.

“I really like where we are headed and where we are going.”


The Emerging Opals will face off against Portugal in the semifinals tomorrow night, Monday 8 July 20:00 CEST (4:00 AEST).


The Emerging Boomers are looking to follow suit in their quarterfinal match tomorrow night, Monday 8 July against Argentina at 17:30 CEST (1:30 AEST).

30 views