top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

2021 UBL Founding Universities Announced!

Updated: Mar 28, 2022

Tuesday 23 March 2021

UniSport is excited to confirm the founding universities competing in the inaugural University Basketball League (UBL) tournament in 2021:

La Trobe University (VIC)

The University of Melbourne (VIC)

The University of Sydney (NSW)

The University of Western Australia (WA)

University of Technology Sydney (NSW)

University of the Sunshine Coast (QLD)

Victoria University (VIC)

Teams are gearing up for the 13 April start of the UBL in what is looking to be a thrilling couple of months for university basketballers and will see matches held on campuses across Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria and Western Australia. The tournament's opening game between the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC) and La Trobe University (LTU) women's teams will light up USC Stadium in what will be a fierce contest.

Victoria University will play host to The University of Melbourne at VU Whitten Oval on the second day of the tournament to finish the end of round one. The only west coast team in the competition will have to wait until the second round to get on the court; The University of Western Australia ‘UWA Maali’ will launch their UBL contest against Victoria University on April 20.

The results of the recent 2020 inter-varsity basketball series saw the University of Technology Sydney women’s team dominate but the University of Sydney men’s team finish with three wins across the four-game series. When the two universities tip off again in the local derby it will no doubt be a hard-fought battle.

All teams will play each other once across the home and away season with the top four teams progressing to preliminary finals. The venue for the inaugural UBL finals is yet to be confirmed.

For the full 2021 UBL schedule, click here

For more information, please contact:

Siobhan James

General Manager International Program & National Leagues

M 0417 002 446


918 views0 comments


bottom of page