top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

UBL reaches new heights with a 12-week league as the full schedule is released

The full schedule for the 2023 University Basketball League Australia (UBL) has been released with great anticipation following the announcement of two new universities joining the league.

The University of Tasmania (UTAS) and Australian Catholic University (ACU) will join the league in 2023.

“We are excited to see the UBL expand for the second year in a row with the addition of ACU and UTAS taking the league to 13 universities and now spanning across from six states.” UniSport CEO Mark Sinderberry says.

“This year a total of 132 matches will be livestreamed on UniSportTV showcasing the incredible passion students have for representing their universities on the national stage. We are looking forward to seeing the best of Australia’s university basketballers contesting the title of 2023 UBL Champions” said Sinderberry.

The 12-week season will commence on Tuesday 14 March with 26 men’s and women’s teams fighting for their respective trophies this year.

Newcomers University of Tasmania (UTAS) will fly to Melbourne to take on Ballarat locals Federation University in their first UBL head-to-head. Kicking their UBL campaign off with a double-header UTAS will also face semi finalists Victoria University.

The 2022 men’s champions The University of Sydney (USYD) and runners up University Technology Sydney (UTS) will welcome west-coast teams The University of Western Australia (UWA Maali) and Curtin University (Carnabys) for two days of double-headers in Sydney on Tuesday 14 March.

The University of Melbourne will be on the road in week one heading to South Australia and a new venue for 2022 UBL debutants The University of Adelaide Waatu (AU Waatu). Meanwhile the inner city rivals RMIT University (RMIT) will host Australian Catholic University (ACU) in their first UBL match.

Week two of the UBL will see USYD return to Bundoora for the women’s grand final rematch at La Trobe University. Queensland’s University of the Sunshine Coast (USC Spartans) will have to wait until week four until they welcome their neighbours and newcomers Australian Catholic University (ACU).

Check out the 2023 UBL schedule here

2023 UBL Universities

Australian Catholic University

Curtin University

Federation University Australia

La Trobe University

RMIT University

The University of Adelaide

The University of Melbourne

T he University of Sydney

The University of Western Australia

University of Tasmania

University of Technology Sydney

University of the Sunshine Coast

Victoria University

2,181 views0 comments


bottom of page