top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

University of Technology with a landslide victory at 2022 Nationals Snow Championships

Updated: Sep 12, 2022

UniSport Media Release

For release: Thursday 8 September

University of Technology Sydney (UTS) are seeing gold following an action-packed four days of competition at the 2022 UniSport Nationals Snow Championships. UTS were crowned the Overall University Champion, winning the Ampol Inter-Varsity Combined Teams Trophy.

Over 150 students from 16 universities across Australia competed at Mt Buller, Victoria from 4-8 September 2022 for the first UniSport Nationals Snow event in three years. UniSport Australia (UniSport) Chief Executive Officer, Mark Sinderberry explained that “the return of this event in 2022, allows students to compete for their university and test themselves against the best student athletes in Australia”.

UTS had a remarkable week, not only winning the Overall University Champion title, but also were awarded The Uebergang Cup, Overall Men’s Champion and The Sports Craft Cup, Overall Women’s Champion titles. UTS Men’s team retained the title they won in 2019, with the women winning the overall title for the first time.

Sinderberry extended his congratulations to UTS Sport and all competing athletes after their victory and praised all participants for their efforts during the week and hoped they enjoyed their experience.

“UniSport Nationals Snow is one of our demonstrable commitments to providing competition opportunities that connect students to their universities in a meaningful way. Events such as this aim to enhance student experience during their time at university” Sinderberry said.

The Australian National University (ANU) team were awarded the Spirit of the Mountain trophy after displaying some outstanding sportsmanship during the week. The Spirit of the Mountain is a cumulation of points through the four days of competitions as voted by all participating universities.

Overall champions by discipline were awarded at the closing presentation. Congratulations to the following universities:

  • Overall University Alpine Champion – Men - The University of Sydney (USYD)

  • Overall University Alpine Champion - Women - UTS

  • Overall University Freestyle Champion - Men - UTS

  • Overall University Freestyle Champion - Women - The University of Melbourne

  • Overall University Snowboard Champion - Men - RMIT University (RMIT)

  • Overall University Snowboard Champion - Women - UTS

Individual champions were also awarded at the conclusion of the event. Congratulations to the following student-athletes:

  • Overall Individual Alpine Champion – Men - Hugh McAdam, USYD

  • Overall Individual Alpine Champion – Women - Zoe Spanos, UTS

  • Overall Individual Freestyle Champion – Men - Oliver Logan, UTS

  • Overall Individual Freestyle Champion – Women – Emma Bosco, University of New South Wales

  • Overall Individual Snowboard Champion – Men – Harvey Edmanson, RMIT

  • Overall Individual Snowboard Champion – Women - Amber Essex, UTS

Finally, UniSport would like to thank Mt Buller for their support in delivering the event this year.

For more information on Nationals Snow and list of the full results click here

About UniSport   

UniSport Australia (UniSport) is the peak body for university sport in Australia. 43 universities are members of UniSport, representing a population of over one million students. UniSport’s ambition is to become an integral partner to Australian universities and to deliver an outstanding student experience at our national intervarsity competitions.    

More information on UniSport:    


For more information please contact:   

Kylie Bloodworth   

Marketing and Communications Manager   

Mobile: 0449 949 916   


196 views0 comments


bottom of page