top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

New universities unveiled for 2023 University Basketball League Australia

Updated: Dec 13, 2022

UniSport Australia (UniSport) is thrilled to announce the further expansion of the University Basketball League Australia (UBL) with two new universities joining the league in the third year of the competition. The student-only competition has proved to be hugely popular across the country, building on many historic university rivalries.

Image: The University of Sydney v University of Technology Sydney in the 2022 Men's Grand Final © Jaimi Joy

Joining the league in 2023 will be the Australian Catholic University and University of Tasmania taking the league participation to 13 universities.

In 2022 Curtin University, Federation University Australia, RMIT University and The University of Adelaide joined the seven founding universities: La Trobe University, The University of Melbourne, University of the Sunshine Coast, The University of Sydney, University of Technology Sydney, The University of Western Australia, and Victoria University.

UniSport CEO Mark Sinderberry highlights the growth of the league, “We are excited to see the further expansion of the UBL competition in 2023 with the addition of two new universities taking the league across six Australian states.”

"We are looking forward to all matches of the league again being livestreamed on UniSportTV showcasing the incredible passion students have for representing their universities on the national stage” Sinderberry said.

The 2023 UBL will tip off on 14 March 2023, with nine weeks of home and away games and three weeks of finals concluding with grand finals on 30 and 31 May 2023.

The full schedule for 2023 UBL will be released soon.

Image: The University of Melbourne v RMIT University © Grant Treeby

2023 UBL Universities:

South Australia

  • The University of Adelaide

Western Australia

  • Curtin University

  • The University of Western Australia

New South Wales

  • The University of Sydney

  • University of Technology Sydney


  • University of the Sunshine Coast


  • Federation University Australia

  • La Trobe University

  • The University of Melbourne

  • RMIT University

  • Victoria University

  • Australian Catholic University


  • University of Tasmania

About UBL

The University Basketball League Australia (UBL) is a national university basketball competition first established in 2021. Thirteen universities from six states across Australia participate in the competition in both men’s and women’s divisions. The twelve-week competition will see more than 130 games played in a home and away format on university campuses. All games are live streamed free and on demand through UniSportTV.

For more information on the UBL click here

To subscribe to UniSportTV click here

About UniSport

UniSport Australia (UniSport) is the peak body for university sport in Australia. 43 universities are members of UniSport, representing a population of over one million students. UniSport’s ambition is to become an integral partner to Australian universities and to deliver an outstanding student experience at our national intervarsity competitions.

More information on UniSport:

For more information please contact:

Kylie Bloodworth

Marketing and Communications Manager

Mobile: 0449 949 916

2,531 views0 comments


bottom of page