top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

UBL is back in 2022 with all games streamed on UniSportTV

The 2022 University Basketball League Australia (UBL) is back for a second year in an expanded competition, with 11 member universities competing in the men’s and women’s competitions to be played on university campuses across Australia.

After the inaugural season in 2021 was disrupted due to the Covid pandemic, it is a both a testament to our student-athletes and member universities that the competition has expanded to include five states and will see over 100 games being played.

The 2022 UBL will include eight weeks of round games commencing on Monday 21 March and culminates in a new home and away finals format to determine the 2022 UBL champions.

“The opportunity to represent their university in a national tournament was highly valued by the seven founding teams in 2021 so we are looking forward to a bigger and better UBL in 2022.” UniSport CEO Mark Sinderberry says.

“With 11 universities from five states, 110 games will be played on campuses across Australia as well as livestreamed on UniSportTV, our new broadcast platform. UniSportTV, powered by Cluch, provides free access to watch the games live, or catch up on replays or highlights”.

Tipping off for the first match will be The University of Melbourne taking on one of the four new universities Federation University (Fed Falcons) in Ballarat on Monday 21 March.

The 2021 minor premiers The University of Sydney will take on local rivals University Technology Sydney at home in what is sure to be one of the highlights of the season.

La Trobe University will face their Victorian rivals in rounds two and three, tipping off against Victoria University at home on Monday 28 March and then travelling to play newcomers RMIT University on Tuesday 5 April. These games will no doubt be featured on the 2022 UBL highlights reel.

Queensland’s University of the Sunshine Coast (USC Spartans) and the only South Australian UBL teams from The University of Adelaide (AU Waatu) will go head-to-head in round three at USC Stadium, with AU Waatu looking to make an impact in their first year of the competition.

The western derby between UWA Maali and Curtin University (Curtin Uni Carnabys) will be featured in the UBL Pride Round on Tuesday 10 May, in the final round of games before the finals series commences on 16 May 2022.

Check out the 2022 UBL schedule here and head to UniSportTV to catch all the UBL action live

For more information please contact:

Kylie Bloodworth

Marketing and Communications Manager

M 0449 949 916

990 views0 comments


bottom of page