top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

University Women's 7s Rising Stars Team Announced

Following on from the successful 2022 University Women’s 7s Series, a team of the best talent from across the Series has been selected to make up the University Women’s 7s Rising Stars Team.

The team will go into camp on Tuesday 8th November on the Sunshine Coast to begin preparations for their debut appearance at the Queensland State 7s Championship at Noosa on the 12th and 13th November.

The Australian Women's 7s Head Coach Tim Walsh and 7s High Performance Manager Scott Bowen will be in attendance at the team’s first training day on Wednesday 9th November to cast their eyes over the next generation of 7s talent.

The scope of talent is evident with widespread representation amongst the universities across Australia and the further opportunities for the players to face high level opposition in Queensland will be extremely valuable.

Jess Gentle, The University of Newcastle. Photo credit: Stewart Hazell

The team management has been selected from a number of universities to ensure the Rising Stars Team perform at a high level in the Championship.

The following 13 players will represent the University 7s Rising Stars:

  1. Grace Baker (Bond University)

  2. Anaia Cruickshank (The University of Newcastle)

  3. Jess Gentle (The University of Newcastle)

  4. Brooke Gilroy (University of Canberra)

  5. Tiara Hatchard (The University of Adelaide)

  6. Tamika Jones (The University of Western Australia)

  7. Nicole Ledington (The University of Western Australia)

  8. Anastasia Martin (University of Canberra)

  9. Rosie McGehan (The University of Western Australia)

  10. Faitala Moleka (The University of Sydney)

  11. Rory Owen (The University of Sydney)

  12. Caitlin Stanley (The University of Adelaide)

  13. Aiysha Wigley (The University of Western Australia)

The following players were unable to be selected due to injury:

Ellie Konopka (The University of Adelaide)

Jade Te Aute (The University of Melbourne)


Coach: James Erwin (University of Canberra)

Coach: David Sharp (The University of Newcastle)

Coach: Ashlee Temple (The University of Western Australia)

Athletic Performance: Billy Mason (University of Canberra)

Physiotherapist: Dom Trinder (University of Canberra)

As Bond University is already attending the Queensland State 7s Championship, some of the Bond players were ineligible for selection, including 2022 Player of the Series Melanie Wilks, Amahli Hala, Ava Wereta, Faythe Manera and Emily Bass.

You can watch all of the matches on the main field at the Queensland State 7s Championship via the Queensland Reds YouTube page on Saturday 12 November and Sunday 13 November.

For more information please contact:     

Penny Channon

UniSport Australia


1,074 views0 comments


bottom of page